Pussy Willows in the Glass House

You love them. Admit it, you do. Their fuzzy little gray-white selves are impossible to resist. When you see them, your eyes want to look and look. Your hands want to touch them. You know the feel will be soft as silk, pleasing. Yes, I know this; I, too, feel that way about the pussy willows in springtime.

I visited the Arboretum only to discover - to my great delight! - several large arrangements of pussy willows in the Glass House at Childhood's Gate. No, I did not resist them. Yes, I DID touch. They WERE as soft as you remember. It was a happy moment, full of childlike glee. And the Glass House was like a cathedral, lit up with beautiful light.

I remembered this song having the word cathedral in the lyrics, so my soundtrack song is Suzanne Vega, with Gypsy. It's from her second album, Solitude Standing; every song on that album is good.

You come from far away
With pictures in your eyes
Of coffee shops and morning streets
In the blue and silent sunrise
But night is the cathedral
Where we recognized the sign
We strangers know each other now
As part of the whole design

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.