Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Boys of Summer

It had to be a red-winged blackbird today.  A small group of males visits every day now, as they set up territories in the nearby wetland area.  Later, once there are nestlings, the females will also make trips to the yard to get suet and seeds; but for now, it's just the boys.  For the last few years, this has been the spring/summer routine - the males show up in March and they will be around until the young have fledged and been taught how to survive.  And then, they'll all disappear until next spring.  

Because they are perfect hawk-meals, they tend to be extremely cautious and take flight at the slightest thing.  It helps them to avoid being on the menu.  And it also makes them a little tricky to photograph.  Luckily, they don't seem at all bothered by the hide and pretty much ignore it, even when I've got a lens poking out the side, as I did here.  The pussy willows are from a bundle I bought several weeks ago.  I stuck them in a pot on the patio where I'm told they'll take root if I am patient.  

Gym today - cardio and weights.  Also had my annual physical and a good visit with my doctor this morning.  I've been seeing him for about 15 years so he's seen me through brain tumor, menopause and the host of usual things that come along as we age.  He's very keen on eating right and getting exercise, so he was very happy to hear about the exercise regimen that Hubs and I have embarked on. 

Hubs and I think that Phoebe is starting to show some signs of improvement.  She still tips over very easily, so keeping her confined is a must.  However, she is somewhat steadier and has started grooming herself again (which she'd stopped because she'd fall over when she tried to clean herself, poor baby).  Little steps, but I'm cautiously optimistic.  

Cheers...
Debbi 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.