Pohutukawa

Metrosideros excelsa 'Aurea' (Yellow Pohutukawa)

The Yellow Pohutukawa (Metrosideros excelsa 'Aurea') is a coastal evergreen tree in the myrtle family, Myrtaceae, that produces a brilliant display of yellow flowers made up of a mass of stamens. This yellow-flowered cultivar "Aurea" descends from a pair discovered in 1840 on Motiti Island of Tauranga in the Bay of Plenty by a Mr Potts.

It grows best in coastal areas and can reach 20m tall, it is endemic to New Zealand.

The red flowers are more popular being known as New Zealands Christmas tree but the yellow is just as pretty, theres just alot less of it.

Sorry I got interrupted and didn't finish my writing.....

Hubby and I decided at the last minute to go to Gore Bay this afternoon, you can imagine my delight when I saw this yellow pohutukawa in flower, for those interested there are many varieties of red in flower to, its early in the season for down here so theres no need to rush the buds are only just ripening with a few in flower. Lots of birds feeding on the nectar, tuis, silvereyes and yes bellbirds, no good shots from me though - I'll be going back, might see you there :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.