Tomato Plants

I woke at about 7 and got up at 8. After I’d had breakfast and done a few bits - including getting mum’s car out of the garage, and packing up my stuff, I left Hoddesdon at about 9.20. The roads were clear and I got home at just after 12. Going in the other direction, there were long queues of caravans heading away from the coast, especially from Fakenham onwards. I was glad to be heading towards the coast! I’ll hopefully get to enjoy the a bit of that coast one weekend soon, as today I was just keen to get home.

Dan was out but everyone else was at home. Jon was cutting the grass and we sat in the garden to eat some lunch. The garden is desperate for me to spend a lot of time weeding it. I think it is going to have to wait. I did a little bit, but can’t believe how much the bind weed and ground elder have taken hold. I won’t be able to dig them out again this year, so I don’t think I’ll try. Instead I’ll just let my plants battle it out with the weeds. All my dahlias died last year anyway, so I need to dig it all out and start again at some point. There is too much to do, and not enough time. Jon and I drove into Cromer to get diesel and then to Overstrand garden centre to buy these tomato plants. I fail miserably to grow them from seed. I’m not doing very well with other things either for some reason. Later Henry and I walked to the allotment and collected 6 eggs. Mollie has been feeding them....but forgot to check for eggs! It’s like they’ve just become pets, rather than producers! No harm done. We chatted to Paul and Jo who have the other allotment. They said they had a dead baby otter in their water barrel which was very sad, but interesting that we have otters in the village stream.

Back home I planted my 3 tomato plants in the greenhouse, then with Henry we started to do some burning. We have a bit at the bottom of the garden where we are thinking about building a bigger pond (we have a tiny dry one at the moment). I’m letting Henry do some of the planning. He says he’d like a water feature, and we thought some rocks with the water trickling over it. Well, it’s a plan, but whether it happens is another matter!

A bit of tv, then bed. Manda has been in touch and says Dad seems ok; much the same as yesterday, so we hope he will be able to go home tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.