Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Honesty

Lunaria annua..

I've been trying to discover where this lovely flower got the name 'honesty'.  Without much success.  The 'Lunaria' bit probably refers to its silvery moon-shaped seedheads, but why should this make it 'honest'?  Especially as it's also connected in some parts of Europe with Judas Iscariot's thirty pieces of silver.  The way we talk about things can be very obscure, don't you think?

Speaking of which, I had a lovely long catch-up this morning with an old friend and afterwards Hazel and I had a good walk south through the edge of town and along the river to St Catherine's Hill.  That's where I found the honesty, growing on the edge of one of the sluices.

Don't forget, WildflowerWeek 3 finishes at midnight.  From tomorrow morning you should tag your entries #WFW19_04

Thank you for being so kind about my stilllife yesterday - and have a fabulous evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.