The 3 Amigos: More Yorkshire Bridges

This was the final day of our Yorkshire hike, from Pateley Bridge to Ripon - another 15 mile stretch (making 45 miles over 3 days with lots of ups and downs) so we're all now nursing slightly achey legs (but feeling good about it!). Happily it's been dry all day for a change, with long sunny periods.

Most of the way the boys travelled in my backpack again, although when they realised that the sun was shining they kept wanting to come out. After yesterday's interesting bridge, they decided that they'd like to see some more bridges of different types.  When Trigger saw the dilapidated bridge in the main photo he wanted to go across it, even though it was marked "Private" with a big sign. As you can see, Rowan was tempted to join him but Kelso soon told them to come off it: he was scared that it would give way under their weight!

The extra shows them all on the wall of a very old, interesting packhorse bridge. Amazingly they all behaved well this time and took great care not to fall off. Trigger was cheeky though - he asked me if I was as old as the bridge, and he seemed surprised when I told him it was probably many times older than me!!

Tomorrow I'll be taking the Amigos on a bus and train ride back to Newcastle, and then on Tuesday they'll be off on their next adventure as I'll be sending them to blipper Ninjashoe. I've been very lucky to have their company for 3 weeks - I'll miss them when they're gone, the house will seem very quiet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.