Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Surprise Visitor

The sun was on the verge of setting and Mom had already closed the blinds on the glass door.  I went over to peek out because there's usually a lot of activity that time of day.  No sooner than I did, this wee Western Screech owl landed right in front of me.  Birds are fickle and you never know how long they'll sit for you but I had to try to get a camera.  The closest one was in a bag in the other room.  I went to take a shot but GRRRR, no card in it.  I rushed around to find a card, inserted it and slid the door slightly open.  But GRRRR again!  The lens wouldn't focus even after I adjusted the ISO.  The little guy was still perched on the patio chair giving me time to change the lens and take two shots before flying to my neighbors patio chair.  Eventually, he was off to find his dinner.

I barely cropped this so I could show his size in perspective . These Western Screech owls are often confused my people around here as Elf owls because of their size but they are distinctly different.  Now that I know they're around again I'll be keeping a sharp eye open.

Couldn't resist this one:
Q: What kind of math do Screech Owls like?
A: Owlgebra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.