My last meeting, I guess

Christina dropped me at the office at 8:30 am and we were gathering for Cline's training session.
I was feeling a bit funny, not knowing what to expect and the fear that I would be pulled back into everything, while I am actually trying to detach myself.
The meeting started with something duly unexpected! 
C and Jack were last week at the annual supplier conference of my customer, and we received the global logistics excellence award. 
One of his first slides was a picture of when he and Jack received the award. Then he dragged a box out of his case and handed me the award over, saying that this was mine!
I was shocked! The last thing I wanted to receive was estimated 5 kg of glass to take home! And it's something that should stay with the company, in some nice office and in view for all the people who work daily on the account and make things happen. The last award we got 2 years ago was given to me too, and I made sure to hand it over to my team in Frankfurt who do the daily operations,
This one should have stayed with the teams in HongKong. Now I had it on my table ..... and I want to quit in a few days. 
So I was not too happy ... although proud that the hard work was recognised. 
I still was not convinced of C's words that we got it for "his" quality program, that we were discussing in today's meeting. We are good because the customer and I are reviewing performance weekly since years and not since C started to adopt what we are doing since a long time and making it a Corporate Program .....
The meeting was ok - we were about 20 people of loads of different verticals and there was a lot of discussion. I sat next to a funny guy with a dry humour, which was fun.
The meeting was over at 4 pm and I asked Cline when we could have the 1 to 1.
He was good at any time and I went for a bit outside while he had talks with some of the remaining participants.
Once the room had cleared, we started our conversation.
Well - it was a strange one. He is like an eel and as expected, I had issues to bring my points across in the way I had planned. 
He started asking me, why I had not called him directly, when I was not agreeing with things, and I told him that I could not just bypass Jack. The did not accept that, which I think is not right. Bypassing my boss is not a good thing to do. The way he talked, I did not have the impression, that he was worrying for a second, that I could quit! 
He tried to take all the blame for what was pissing me so much off in the past and - seriously - asked me for a hug and forgiveness! 
I tried to make clear that it was not his fault and that the problem was in the communication between him, Jack and myself and how things were delivered to me. But he did not want to listen. Instead he complained that I had phoned my ex-boss! That he did not like at all. I explained that I trust Per and that we talk weekly still, even though I am not reporting to him anymore. Per always gives good advise and I often call hime, when I need to get rid of steam . But - no - I think C was quite angry about that and told me that I had created a mess by doing so.
Right - basically the conversation did not lead anywhere, I could not bring my points across, as he ignored them and "took the blame" for everything. There was no attempt to improve things and surely no attempt to make me happier and the job more loveable. I definitely needed to sleep over this, to figure out what actually happened in this conversation.
We then looked for the other 2 colleagues and drove to the Airport to check into our hotels, then met for dinner in the Squaire.
Food was not too bad, I had some wine and we chatted about work and stuff. 
I was in bed early and switched the light off at 11 pm because I was already falling asleep! Way too early for me.

Blipping the side of the Squaire. It is a very odd building!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.