Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Open Gardens in Humshaugh

There is no church fete this year, but instead an Open Gardens event in the village. After a very grey morning, the sun eventually peeped through and there seemed to be very large numbers of people wandering around.

8 gardens were open. They were all very varied. I managed to go to two, but I needed to go into Hexham to collect various deliveries, so I had to leave the gardens (and the tea in the village hall) early.

The boys were very excited. After all, they want to be involved in as many local events as possible.

First we went to Waynriggs house where they found the skittles (first extra). I'm not sure they really understood the game.......!

Then to John and Joy's garden where we met one son, daughter-in-law and their four children. The young people were initially a bit bemused when I introduced the dogs to them, but they did agree to be photographed with them. (Famous now of course!!)

My second extra is when we met two of the grandees of the village, Judith and Jim. Jim asked if the boys needed a dental check up - guess what his job was back in the day? I asked Judith to smile. "I am smiling", she said, through gritted teeth.

(Jim is usually very smart, but the carer who shaves him weekly, comes on Sundays. This caring business is not going as well as the government intended it, imho.)

Jenny, Dennis and Kate came to see Mum and tell her about the gardens.

I took Margret's shopping in and had a chat. Her knee is doing well after yesterday's fall. She is under strict instructions to rest and she did that today. (Wonders never cease!)

Margaret (from across the road) came and showed Mum photos from the gardens.

I'm bought yet more paint pots to help me decide on colours (for four rooms). 

#feelingtired
#dentalchecksavailable

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.