Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A splendid last day

Today started slowly and the morning passed by quite quickly as I continued to sort kitchen "stuff". The charity shop box is filling up slowly. It's hard to part with things, even when you know you don't use them.

The boys have been asking if they could go to see Hadrian's Wall. It is very close to where I live and they thought the Romans were amazing inventors and wall builders.

It was quite blustery but we bravely set off from Steel Rigg car park. The first extra shows the boys in front of the iconic view of Steel Rigg and Cragg Lough. It was so windy that Kelso had to brace himself in a crack in the rocks and the others leaned against him.

They were safely in my back pack as I climbed up the very steep path on Steel Rigg. Arth wasn't entirely happy, but we made it. We walked to Sycamore Gap. This was made famous by Kevin Costner in Robin Hood. He landed at Dover and a few minutes later was in this tree! Hmm.

You have to take photos here. The boys really love people. I was hoping for American walkers, but a lovely Canadian came along and was happy to pose with them see extra.

Just as I was packing up, a large crowd of young people came along. I was a bit puzzled by the costume of the leader, but I have never watched Game of Thrones!! The leader was delighted to help. He made the whole group come together on a "mission" so that the boys were photographed to prove they were there.

What fun!

You never know who you will meet when you go walking. It was much windier when I descended Steel Rigg and I had to go very carefully. The boys were fast asleep in the backpack by then. Their journey onwards will start tomorrow.

PS I did manage to be photographed with the 3 amigos. See last extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.