Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The beauty of roses?

From my vantage point at the new kitchen sink, I look down on the wall where the James Galway rose is climbing. There were buds coming over the last few days and suddenly there were roses. I took this photo from below and exposed for the rose rather than the grey sky.

From the window the roses look perfect. From close up you can see that the daily rain has damaged the edge of the petals. Despite the rain, a cluster of aphids are sucking the life out of the next bud.

I'll not philosophise about this..........

I have had a quiet day at home editing photos. Tom, the decorator, and Chris, the joiner, have both worked hard all day.

I will have a rant. It's John Lewis again. In a fit of madness, I bought a new flat screen TV for the new kitchen. I know it is mad. The radio is all I really need in there. Anyway, I bought the TV and the tilting bracket to affix it to the wall.

Today the kitchen fitter came to do some snagging jobs. Most are complete - there are things I need him to return to do. Sigh.

When he came to put up the TV, the bracket would not fit on the TV. A very long 'phone call to John Lewis technical support ensued. Since I've had recent negative experience, I was expecting the worst. They eventually worked out that the bracket is the wrong one for the Sony TV. If I had bought it online, I could have taken it to Waitrose in Hexham to return it. Since I bought it in the shop, I have to go to Newcastle. The advisor said it was "too risky" to send it by Royal Mail.

I said I thought they should warn customers about this returns policy. It makes no sense at all to me and I don't want to/haven't got time to go to Newcastle this week.

During this phone call, my mobile went off and it was the neurologist to talk about Mum. I had to cut off JL and return later - to another advisor and start the process again. 

I was promised that someone would phone within 2 hours to let me know the correct bracket to buy. That was 3 hours ago, but I'm still here and willing to take the call.

Thank you for listening - those who go this far - I feel better for that.

PS late phone call from John Lewis and the TV I bought can’t have a tilting bracket. Perhaps I might have chosen a different one, said I! A new one will be sent after another phone call tomorrow. Watch this space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.