Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Duckling - not very wild

So there I was, out this morning looking at trees for the WidWed challenge, when what should I come across but this little piece of enchantment.  And of course I had entirely the wrong lens.

Mum and this one chick were sunning themselves by Hyde Gate on the bank leading down to the Nuns' Stream.  Surprisingly, perhaps, Mrs didn't seem too bothered when I sat down near them, in fact she tip-toed up to me and very gently asked for some food (which of course I didn't have - wasn't doing very well, was I?)  And let me sneak closer still.  This was one of the last pictures I took.  Don't you love that leg stretched out behind?

So as this is not a wide shot, I have the really lovely option of tagging it for WildWed instead.  Thank you so much, Cailleach, for continuing to host this amazing challenge.

And enjoy your evening, folks  xx

Talking of challenges, the results of WildflowerWeek (WFW19_09) are as follows:
HEARTS (in no particular order and coming later this evening) go to
AngelsShare
dfb24
woofcity
Honeycombebeach
kimb

and Honourable Mentions to
Gennepher
Diane2104
Tigger101
AH14
Hazelina

And my thanks to everyone who entered their lovely wildflower pictures.  Between us all we're seeing some pretty wonderful stuff, don't you think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.