Tennis and the Rest

Can there be a worse combination than Wimbledon, cake and knitting? Well maybe Wimbledon, Tour de France, cake and knitting. At his time of year, it’s a struggle to get off the settee and my thighs bear silent witness and increasing birth to the sloth that overcomes me as I’m glued to the screen.

I am amazed that Wimbledon holds my attention because I was worse than hopeless at tennis. I found it hard to see over the net for a start, being knee high to a grasshopper, and then found it even more difficult to make any contact between the racket and the ball. I don‘t know why that was- I like to think there was a lack of coordination between eyes and brain, but whatever the reason it lent itself to a bit of skivving from the school tennis courts to hide behind an embankment and watch our brother school’s cricketers in action.

Before the tennis, I had to sign a document for His Lordship’s final tax return, and took the opportunity to blip the view from the Lawyer’s Office of the ongoing renovation of what will be Edinburgh University’s Institute of the Futures. At least I get that free, the blip that is!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.