An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Eye Gaze at last!

Large

Oh my but I have been the lazier than a lazy thing today!

Read my book into the wee small hours. Woke at 9am. David got up to head to M&S to buy party food for Hogmanay. He wasn't impressed when the shopping list I had written just said "party food" but off he went anyway. He got back about 3 hours later and I was still in bed! So was Alan who hadn't stirred.

When Alan eventually woke he wanted to watch a DVD before attenpting breakfast / lunch so what did I do? I stayed in bed reading my book. Came downstairs in my jammies to give Alan a very late lunch but much to my delight he ate it all! And was much cheerier. Full of laughter, which is a sound that's been missing for most of this week. It was music to my ears.

I headed upstairs to get sh0wered and dressed at 3pm! I came downstairs to this wonderful sight. Alan finally getting to play with his eyegaze computer! The stand was delivered just before Christmas but this is the first time he's been well enough and motivated enough to use it.

The first shot shows David reminding Alan of all the settings. He chose music. The second shot is him being left to his own devices to explore his musical choices and remind himself how to work it. I still find it mind blowing that this amazing technology lets him move a cursor around a computer screen using his eyes!

I surreptitiously took the second shot as I didn't want him to see me and break his concentration. And although you can't see his face, I just love how relaxed he is, sitting there with his legs crossed, casual as you like. He's obviously comfortable with the technology which is a huge relief! :-))

Afterwards he also ate more of his dinner than he has of late and has just eaten his supper for the first time in a week so I am a happy and relieved mum tonight. Think a trip to the docs tomorrow to have his chest sounded is still on the cards.....just to be on the safe side.

Hope you are all having a great Christmas. So sorry that I've been such a rubbish commenter of late. Hoping to improve on that as the week goes on. Well after the New Year Celebrations stop (around 3rd Jan here! :-))

BTW, the music Alan chose was Alison Moyet's album Hometime.....I have trained him well :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.