Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Henry VII marriage bed (again)

I was off early to Haltwhistle for the volunteer training day today.

This meant having everything ready to go early (flip chart and paper, newly folded and stapled leaflets, tea, coffee, biscuits for the participants). I wanted to set up everything ready for Mum, who I was leaving without a carer for lunchtime today.

Just as I was preparing to go, there was a commotion with two very lively cats chasing a small mouse around the hall. I tried to intervene and capture the mouse, but it ran under a bookcase that is full of books and attached to the wall. The cats soon lost interest and I had to leave Mum with a new resident, hoping it would not travel around the house in my absence.

The training was for 11 people. There were 8 new volunteers and 3 refreshers. The day went well, but I was very tired by the end. I think that might be my swan song for that training. Harry does the training and I carefully intervene with extra snippets (some might say I interrupt, but I reckon that people don't want to hear one voice all day!). It's a double act we enjoy.

Then I did a quick shop and came home. I had arranged to go to take more photographs of the Henry VII marital bed. I have blipped this before.  It is a wonderful piece and I'm hoping my photographs may be in a prestigious journal later this year. (Whether they acknowledge me is another matter!)

Home where Margaret ( across the road) called. That's always fun.

In my absence today, Mum had had a very busy time. The electrician came to fix the TV in the kitchen. It's working now. The Rington's man came and the kitchen table I've ordered from John Lewis. (I know, I'm a glutton for punishment).

Tonight, Ian (in the blip, moving the precious bed) came over to put the new table together. We both think it is a sturdy piece of furniture and it matches the kitchen surfaces well.

I watched a bit of the Murray/Williams match tonight but was very sleepy.

Have you wondered about the mouse? I was telling Margaret about it and said I would set a trap tonight. Just as that moment, Daisy appeared with the mouse in her mouth, rather the worse for wear. Well done that cat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.