Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

July Columbine

My Columbines are usually finished blooming in June.  I cut them down before we left a few weeks ago and I found 4 new flowers when I got home.  Of course it has to be my Flower Friday blip!  Many thanks to BikerBear for hosting!

Piper and I slept in the bedroom last night while her dad and the puppies slept in the living room.  It's just easier that way and it gives Piper a break from them.  Tonight it's my turn with the puppies.  I hope they let me sleep.  PD said they were pretty good last night.

Even though I had the comfy bed I was up at 6 a.m. and on my way to the Social Security office by 7:15.  I applied for Medicare (I remember when my grandmother got Medicare, I can't be that old) online but I had to personally bring in my birth certificate  to prove my age and citizenship.  Really??  How could they possibly not have that information?  I have a federally issued passport (for which I had to submit my birth certificate) and Social Security is a federal office.  But, I digress....  I called yesterday to try to schedule an appointment but was told that I would just have to come in and wait.  So I got there at 8:00 and started the line outside the door that grew to about 40 people by the time they opened at 9:00.  I got the lowest number and was the first one called in so it was worth the wait outside.  It only took 10 minutes with the agent and he thought the whole thing was a little ridiculous too.  Anyway, the government now knows my age and that I am a citizen so they can finish processing my application.  I hope the rest of the process goes smoothly!

I am grateful that I didn't have to wait as long as all those poor people who were jammed into the waiting room when I left the SS office today!

I tried to respond to all my comments today.  I'm sorry if I missed you!  I'm hoping to start back with normal visits and comments tomorrow.  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.