BDB

Well, it was one of those work days when you just get your head down, get on with it and hope 5pm arrives quickly. 

The team member who is not a team player was setting off some internal issues, while demanding and unpleasant constituents were causing some “front of house” problems. Meantime, the poor Manager was trying to keep things under control and get ready to go on a week’s holiday tomorrow. 

The Boss is already away on holiday. Guess who - without being asked - has been put in charge while they are away? 

This is unwelcome. First, I do not get paid to take responsibility of that kind. Second, I had 20 years of it in mid-career, before setting up on my own in a 100% staff free zone. Third, I enjoy letting all the grief land on someone else’s desk while I just do the job I am paid to do. Finally, life is just too short.  

But there were positives! 

It was a beautiful morning, and my cycle to work was pure joy. 

I enjoyed reading the newspaper at lunchtime.

It rained briefly about 4.30pm, but it stopped in time for me leaving work to cycle home.

My dinner was simple but delicious. Homemade gazpacho Andaluz, some crispbread (Bavarian) with cheese (Scottish), followed by Polish blueberries with English (how did that happen) kefir. 

I got a few silly wee things in the garden sorted out during the evening, plus I made some more progress on holiday planning. 

All is well which ends well. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.