Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Some Things Grate On Me

I can't thank everyone enough for all of the supportive comments and generous sharing of stars and hearts on yesterday's random act of kindness blip. A RAK doesn't have to involve money.  It can be as simple as a greeting and smile or lending a hand.  Imagine what the world could be like.

We received some disheartening news today. I spoke with one of my mom's cousins and was told that mom's younger brother is suffering from stage 4 lung and prostate cancer.  I've tried to distract her and console her all day because she interpreted what I said as that he passed away.  I'm never going to mention him again to her.  We haven't been in touch for years and he lives in Florida.  But he was always her favorite sibling (the rest are kinda goofy and/or nuts).  None of the four of them have reached out to her in over 15 years.  Is it awful that I'm not sad?  I tossed him out of my  life in 2007 because of his racist emails, attitudes and remarks about Barack Obama.  I told him he lost his f-ing niece.  He took it out on his sister.  Sad.


Two young brothers were spending the night at their grandparents house. When it was time for bed they knelt down and began to say some prayers.
Suddenly, the younger brother starts yelling at the top of his voice, “I PRAY FOR A NEW BICYCLE. I PRAY FOR A COMPUTER. I PRAY FOR A TRIP TO DISNEYLAND...” His brother interrupted, leaned over and whispered to him that God wasn’t deaf. “I know,” said the younger, “but grandma sure is!”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.