Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

I Feel Pretty

Thanks for the kind words (and more) on yesterday’s blip. I appreciate all the support.

From the moment I got this eyepatch yesterday I knew it would figure somehow into a silly Saturday post. He gave me the pirate patch because I only need to use it when the light is making the pain and headache worse. I had planned to make a pirate hat out of newspaper (if I could remember the folds) but it had already been tossed into the recycle bin.

The morning was filled with errands. I started out at the Deli for breakfast, picked up a couple bags of dirt to fill a giant “dent” in the yard caused by the yanking out of a big dead plant and other stuff at the hardware store, stopped at the bank and went to two different pharmacies. I forgot to buy the thing I needed most: toilet paper.

Mom had just dragged herself out of bed when I got home. The only thing I could get her to eat today was a few bites of a pulled pork sandwich, a slice of lemon cake, a cookie and an Ensure nutrition drink.

We basically hung around listening to the thunder and rain then watching TV most of the day.  I have come to realize that I’m not going to get much peace and quiet for months following my upcoming surgery. Mom will be asking me every 30 seconds if there’s anything she can do for me. She got in lots of practice today.

Argh, matey!  Woman overboard!!

An older gentleman was on the operating table awaiting surgery and he insisted that his son, a renowned surgeon, perform the operation. As he was about to get the anesthesia he asked to speak to his son.
“What is it dad?“ he asked.
“Don’t be nervous, son. Do your best and just remember, if it doesn’t go well, if something happens to me, your mother is going to come and live with you and your wife.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.