Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Waiting for my antibiotics

Hello!

I haven't blipped since last Sunday and have loads of catching up to do. I had Monday's blip all prepared, but felt too ill to write a journal. Tuesday morning came and G managed to get a very short notice appointment at the local surgery in Shere. Long story short, I've been in the Royal Surrey County Hospital since last Tuesday with an acute e-coli infection!

I'll fill out the days in between, just for myself when I'm able to. I am definitely on the mend and hoping to be out soon - so I keep saying. The doctor wants my CRP count to be at normal levels (5). I peaked at 358. There's still some way to go! Anyone who is familiar with that measure will have an idea what the last days have been like.

The antibiotic can only be administered by IV, which is why I am still here. A mistake from one of the new nurses yesterday meant I got yesterday's dose very late, and that is affecting the time for my evening dose. Thought I'd blip while I wait. It is 11:20 pm.

Today has not been good. Apart from being very cold on a genuinely cooler day, it's been grey and rained a lot. Friend Chris brought me my laptop and some more clean clothes. Another friend said they'd visit, but plans changed. That was tough. I've actually spent a lot of the day sleeping!

And it was Pakistan's 72nd Independence Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.