Watery

Books on a theme appropriate for the weather. More rain!

I've been very good in the last few years at taking books to the Oxfam Bookshop. There were many books that were never going to be re-read, I try to use the library and I'm not averse to e-books. But there are some which won't ever be donated such as poetry books, favourite children's books, Cameraman's Kurt Vonnegut collection and photography books. And this sort of collection on a theme; loosely islands and water. The topmost book is inscribed to me from my Pembrokeshire friend on the occasion of my 21st birthday (year not to be revealed) and the second top I've just bought following the Book Festival event on Sunday. Moder Dy, a thoroughly recommendable collection of poems written by Shetland poet Roseanne Watt.

Thanks to everyone who has enquired after Otter's health. He saw the vet this morning and there is a possible diagnosis. He is on HRT! Whatever next. Not sure if this really is the answer as his weight loss is a concern but we are going to give the medication a go and review things next week. So that's a bit of a relief as I'd thought he was reaching the end of the road. I know he's only a dog but he's part of the gang. Anyway we might yet have a difficult decision to make but not today.

Today sees a welcome break in the middle of a very busy time. I'm enjoying pottering about and although the weather is disappointing I don't really mind as I have plenty to do in the house to keep me occupied.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.