These Two...

saw me with my camera as I headed to town, and asked me if I wanted to take their photo. I asked if they were serious, and they said Yes, so I did! I gave them a few quid, and chatted with them for a while. 

They are clearly very happy together if not with their situation, and were glad to chat. They said they had had some of their possessions stolen, including the ashes of one of her family members, and that attempts they had made to get help had fallen on stony ground.

I explained about Blip and they were more than happy for me to use their photo.

We have a government that has it as policy to crap from a great height on the most vulnerable in our society. An arcane welfare system that has been cut to the bone, rogue landlords who are permitted to charge ridiculous rents for sub-standard accommodation, decimation of social housing, lack of affordable homes and gentrification have all contributed to the housing crisis we now have in this prosperous country. 

At least 320,000 people are homeless in Britain including those in hostels, temporary accommodation and actually on the street. That's gone up by 25,000 since 2016.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.