Capital adventures

By marchmont

Couch potato 2

Another day of barely moving as the sogginess continued outside.  In my defence I did wash the kitchen floor and vacuum. 

I was still puddling around the family history and the internet is such a rich source of information, you can waste hours!!! I tracked down, again (this time saving) the sale notice when my 3 x gt grandfather (Adam) sold up his upholstery/cabinet maker business in May 1825.  The auction was in a wareroom in Northumberland Street beside Howe Street and he was also selling the house, workshops and wood store in the Cowgate, around where the Central Library is now. My 2 x gt grandfather was not quite 1 at the time. Then of course he was bankrupted the following year.   I also managed to find the place another 2 x gt grandfather (Henry) went after he was bankrupted (Berwickshire tenant farmer) in 1866.  Turns out he went Derrygimla in Co Galway as a land agent. I know this as they had a son there.  That location became famous 53 years later when Alcock and Brown landed there.  Henry didn't do so well.  He brought the family back to Berwickshire, fell in Eyemouth Harbour aged 40 and drowned. I found the sale advert for his bankruptcy sale.  A whole household of personal belongings disposed of. Must have been so hard. I also realised that I had misread a '4' for '11' which makes my gt grandfather's (Daniel) address in Drummond Street seem much more believable. 

Late afternoon finally got news that the Cab Sec had approved the changes, by a somewhat circuitous route, so I'll be in a new role from November, albeit for a very short time.

And I need to start planning the trip.  That has to be a priority. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.