Jurong Bird Park

The second day of my hop off, hop on bus ticket took me to the Jurong Bird Park which is a great place, but it was so busy and full of kids. Luckily I'd pre-bought my ticket from the bus so I didn't have to queue, but it was just chaos and in 34 degrees heat I began to regret my decision.  Alan later told me that it's the school holidays here, hence the amount of children.

Anyway, once through into the park the crowds of people dispersed so it wasn't too bad, and I saw some wonderful birds.  They're in huge walk through aviaries so you see them pretty close, my favourite one being the waterfall aviary where I took this shot of a 'Superb Starling' - that is it's name and it certainly lives up to it with it's magnificent colours.  I could just imagine them murmuring over Brighton beach, how spectacular would that be?

Another favourite was the Lorry Loft where you can buy nectar to feed the Lorikeets.  I've added some extras, one of which is a lorikeet feeding from someone's hand - I did the same, however you'll see by the photo of my bird, he was rather cheeky!  He wasn't interested in the nectar, but he tried to remove my watch, jumped on my shoulder and started pecking at my earrings and then jumped on my head to try and get my hair clip!  It was so funny and I had an audience who were all laughing.

I spent a few hours there and then caught the shuttle bus back into Singapore and finished my afternoon off with a swim again and Alan joined me once he got back from work.  He said he's enjoying having me here with him as otherwise he would just get back to the hotel, have something to eat and go to bed.  

Tonight we went to an Indian Restaurant that we went to when we were here two years ago and it was just as good as we remembered.  We told the owner that we we'd been before and he said he thought he remembered our faces  - well he said he remembered Alan, but not me - probably because I had much shorter hair then!  The food is so good that we've booked a table for next Wednesday as it's our wedding anniversary - we're going to celebrate in the Long Bar at Raffles, having Singapore Slings, but I said I'd like to go back there to eat first,  so I'm glad that we have something planned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.