1940s on The Poppy Line

I've had a fab day, spent with my friend Angela, both of us dressed up in the authentic gear, for this years 40s event in Sheringham, Holt and Weybourne. This, of the many photos I took, was my favourite. I will add a few more in my extras or post on facebook.

It's the first time I have been without Jon, as he was busy today doing bushcraft with Cubs and beavers locally. Just bad timing really, but he had already committed himself to it. So I was pleased when Ange showed interest, and very lucky as she had to drive up from Cambridge this morning. By 10.30 we were being stopped several times to have our photos taken, and complemented on our look! It was just good fun. Such a happy atmosphere, and all the Sheringham shop keepers had really entered into the spirit more than in previous years.

There was music, dancing, lots of rides up and down the Poppy Line on lovely old steam and diesel trains, including the Black Prince, and so many vintage stalls to draw me in! I did buy a little tin for my glass cabinet, and a blouse to start a new outfit. I hope to make some trousers in time for next year to go with the blouse.

The weather was glorious, so we felt very lucky. By the end of the day, our feet really felt punished, but we were still smiling.

I got home about 4, made a sausage casserole and have started the ironing. Now a bit of relaxing!

Photos - I could resist the photo of Mr and Mrs Matchless. They had to be in their 80s, and once he had kick started her bike and lifted it off its stand, she rode off and he followed!! The rest speak for themselves!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.