Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Colchicum

I only planted these bulbs 3 days ago.  Admittedly, at the time they were already showing signs of sprouting within the plastic bag - but goodness, they've developed quickly.  I had expected that we would not get flowers this autumn, but would have to wait till next autumn.

We've had a "sorting out" day.  We went to the Kia dealer, who have quoted the PX price for my car.  Our new car is now in the country, and due for delivery at the dealership by 30th September.  It really does seem we might finally get it.  WE HAVE THE REGISTRATION NUMBER FOR IT!!!!!!!!!!!!  

We then came home and spent some time clearing the garage, so that our electrician can fit the Zappi charger when it arrives.  Amongst other things, I found the rear seat head rests from my car.  These have to be removed before the seat can be pulled forward to extend the room in the boot - what a stupid design that is!  Since I frequently transported Fido in a cage in my car, the rear seat was almost permanently pulled forward, and we'd put the head rests carefully into the garage.  I've now cleaned them up and returned them to the car.

I then spent some time on the computer, and have rekindled my interest in genealogy.  I had a phone call from an elderly cousin of dad's at the weekend - and we got talking about their mutual great grandfather, William Cudworth, who wrote several books.  She said that she had lost any copies of his books that she had during a rather messy divorce, and wondered if it was still possible to get hold of them.  She wanted a list of what books he had published.  She is very much of the older generation with no IT ability at all.  

I have copies of most of his books - from Dad, but would not want to part with them.  I spent some time on antiquarian book sites, where I found copies of several, and the names of some I do not possess.  I then Googled William Cudworth, and found an excellent summary of his life history; though I could amplify it on several aspects, it did have a list of the books he had published.

But the upshot of all this perusing of the books, and the websites, is that I am once again developing an interest in expanding my online family tree.

In other news, I rang PACT, and discovered that sadly, "our" hedgehog has died.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.