Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

MM: Pastime

Cycling is a popular pastime.  But it's not one of mine.  

For my First Communion at age 7, my parents gave me my first two-wheeler.  I loved that bike.  It was a 20-inch blue Schwinn with streamers coming out of the handles.  I rode that bike until I was 13, even though by then it was way too small for me.  My parents thought that I should have one of those new 3-speed bicycles with hand brakes.  Getting on and riding it wasn't too difficult...until  I needed to slow down as I was riding downhill. My first reaction was to use my brake pedals. But NO! No brake pedals on this new-fangled beauty. I panicked and squeezed the hand brakes - really hard.  The bike stopped in its tracks.  I flew over the handlebars performing a not very graceful header and body slam slide across the asphalt. My mom was picking junk out of me for days. I haven't gotten on anything other than a stationary exercise bicycle since.

Thanks to nickimags for hosting mono Monday this month and for helping dredge up that lovely memory...which may prove to some that I've always been a klutz.  (Very difficult to believe I was ever any kind of successful athlete!! )

Made catering arrangements for the reception in the church hall after the memorial mass today. I also finally notified the bank. Tuesday is going to be an unpleasant day in the ongoing saga of taking care of things related to my mother's death. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.