Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Spooky

Appropriately for what lay ahead for the day, it was cold 64/18 and raining at noon when we headed out to pick up mom (well, her ashes so I now have someone to talk to tonight) and the death certificates. In fact, it was so yucky that I had to wear jeans for the first time since March and a hooded sweatshirt which was a joy to get on and off.

The rain had stopped for the return ride but as we got closer to home the mountains began oozing with fog. I had to wait until we got off the freeway and busy streets before we could pull off to the side so I could take a picture. It was a challenge because I needed to raise my arm more than I have and as I struggled to do that I took an unusually high number of shots of my finger.

All was good by the time we got home. I spoke with my friend and mentor Alma for a good long while. She moved back east last winter and was as close to a second mom I ever had. She doesn’t blip anymore but seems happy.

I also made a decision in consultation with brother Andy about the disposition of the ashes and I’m good with that. Tomorrow I meet with the church Deacon to finalize details of the memorial mass. I know this seems like it’s taking forever and that I’m dwelling on all of this stuff but there are a bazillion things to do. I figure if I do a little at a time I won’t become overwhelmed and end up in the psych ward.

I slept in my bed (as opposed to the recliner) for the first time since the shoulder surgery and other than one quite ouchie moment did pretty well. Tiny bites, tiny bites.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.