Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

In the woods

This is my hiking group and today we had three dogs, my Gypsy, a lab that is a service dog at school for special needs kids and a two year old pup who went crazy when she saw yellow butterflies!     We had a good five mile hike in fall and summer weather, cool when we started out but by the time we finished up at 1pm it was up in the high 80s.  Summer just won't let go!   

I am happy that my ankle did well. The whole left leg is a little sore but nothing that a hot soak in the tub did not put right.  Very little swelling around the ankle area too!   I was a little anxious as the area where we hiked has some steep hills and lots of leaves on the ground...which hide little things like roots, rocks and pine cones.  The worst part was when we got to the old railroad bed which had those large gravel rocks that were under the tracks years ago.  They are not friendly to your feet!    But I was extra careful and walked slowly behind most of the ladies.   My friend Louise (in the bright bright pinkish orange shirt) has a bad knee so she stayed with me most of the trail.     The ladies were all concerned and caring about how I was doing with the walk!    Love these girls!  

An excellent day!   I will probably sleep really well tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.