Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Al Serkal Avenue

(19/10/19)

Today started out really well. G doesn't have to be in school until 9:30 so it's not quite the mad morning rush. I worked from the Lebanese cafe until it was time to pick her up again.

We had a meeting with Patrick at Costa. It was good to see him again after several weeks. The SA bible study got cancelled leaving us with a free evening, so as I'd missed watching a movie I'd been invited to on Monday night (we had guests over for dinner), I suggested to G that we try that. Unfortunately, it was a later show than Monday - 9:45 instead of 7:30. G was game though.

A new marketing company/app has set up in Dubai called Surkus. Basically, vendors who sign up use the power of personal experience to advertise their business. I thought I'd try it, but it is clear the target audience is less than 35 years old! Anyway, I received an email from an art cinema house about their Latino Film week. They offered me a free invitation to watch the movie "Nostalgia for the Light". It is based in the Atacama Desert in Chile, and what caught my attention was that it was about the extremely dry and clear atmosphere there which makes it ideal to look at the stars. The movie was in Spanish with English subtitles.

The cinema itself was most interesting. There is only one screen, and as you can see from my extra, very casual seating. One just walks in and chooses where they'd like to sit! G chose our spot, but in hindsight, I wish we'd sat further back. The picture and sound quality are what one would expect in a cinema these days (HD/Dolby). The tickets are a bit pricey though and no offers to bring the cost down (apart from my free one to view this movie!!)

I have to admit I nodded off briefly at one point. G stayed awake throughout. We were home around midnight. I was tired, so no thought of blipping at that hour.

I hope you can take a few seconds now to click on this link to help towards donating free mammograms to those who can't afford them. Thank you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.