Brickpecker

I always check our two disused steam boiler chimneys for birds. I've photographed all sorts perching on them, including birds of prey, gulls, crows and even a pair of mallards. Usually it's pigeons or collared doves.

A collared dove was on top of the forty-foot high northerly chimney this morning but my attention was taken by a blue tit flitting back and forth to an area a few feet from the top. Suddenly a green woodpecker appeared and I have pics of them both in the same frame. We often hear Woody calling but he's very shy and I've rarely managed to capture him. What a thrill to see one this morning. Notice how she's (she hasn't got a red moustache) using her tail to steady herself. What a thrill to see this beautiful bird, one of my favourites.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.