TINY TUESDAY - FUNGI

We have quite a large pile of logs in our garden, which we have left on purpose so that any insects can make their homes there during the winter.  Last week I noticed that there was a lot of fungi growing on some of the logs, so thought they would make a good shot for Tiny Tuesday this week, although I appreciate it's not actually in line with the theme of the challenge, which is “something old”.  There seems to be an abundance of fungi around, mainly the result of all the wet weather, so I understand, and we have certainly had plenty of that just lately.

I don’t find it easy crouching down, and this particular one was quite near the bottom of the wood pile, so I had to be somewhat of a contortionist to get this shot - and at the same time be very careful NOT to fall into the pond - which Mr. HCB said would have made a good Blip - cheeky!

So after all the excitement of yesterday, when you kindly put Mr. HCB and JH Ted in the top spot on the Popular page, here is another fungi!  I am still looking for my little red toadstool - a fly agaric - but in the meantime, this common garden fungi will have its fifteen minutes of fame on Blip.  There is also a lot of bright orange fungi growing in one of the wheelbarrows, but still no elusive red toadstool, so I will just have to keep looking.

Thank you so much for all the kind comments, stars and hearts for my 2,500th Blip yesterday - I just have to make sure that Mr. HCB eats those bananas - they were 25p each at our local Tesco store - strange how stores now charge for different fruit individually, but the bananas were worth every penny!

“All fungi are edible.
     Some fungi are only edible once.”
Sir Terry Pratchett

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.