Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A day of travelling north

It’s been dry and sunny all day. If I had known, I would have driven. Then there would have been no hassle about the weight of my luggage or a struggle to carry it. Let’s say I’ve had easier journeys.

En route various people took pity as they saw the white haired woman struggling, so that was a pleasure. I’ve decided I need to cultivate the helpless look.....!

On the first train of the day I was chatting to a cyclist who was going to cycle from Haltwhistle to Alston on the South Tyne Trail. She had an electric bike which was good because the trail goes steadily uphill. When I offered her a Walking Festival card she said I had given her one at a gig at The Vault. She still prefers to walk alone. I have no memory of this! Whoops.

The flight was lovely. There was hardly a cloud in the sky. The sunset just before we landed and the moon rose.

My taxi was waiting.

The hotel is old established. My room, on the back, is small and perfectly formed! Glad I’m not here for a week!

The play, Hope and Joy, was at the Arts Centre. There was a tiny audience, less than 20, and we did our best. The actors did their best, but I don’t think the play will make it to the West End.

And so to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.