Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A day in Stornoway

Last time I visited Stornoway it was a dreich, cold day and I was not impressed. In today's watery sunshine and dry cold, the place looked much better. 

I found an electrical shop to help me make my head torch work. I found a clothes and shoe shop where I bought wellies (mine were too heavy to bring). 

In the main street the cadets were selling poppies. See first extra.

My blip was taken when I walked to the north side of the port and looked over to Arnish Point. This image was asking to be in mono.

Although I was trying to encourage my landscape eye, I ended up with some photos of people. I met Anya in the woodland around Lews Castle. She is Swiss and is staying here while a fractured foot heals. She had a lovely, well behaved spaniel with her. Anya knows how to train dogs and this one usually pulls on the lead for the owner. You would never have guessed by its placid behaviour with her.

My Hebridean breakfast was so good that I did not have any lunch. Late in the afternoon, I stopped for a coffee and a piece of cake. I was sitting next to a man who started talking about cameras. Turns out he has a Sony A9 as I do. He takes sports photographs of local events and you can see his work here.

He also told me about a trip to St Kilda where the photo group stayed for 5 days. It sounded wonderful. I thought my one day there last year was brilliant, but this sounded very special.

Back at the hotel, I ate a delicious meal. The only problem was that the restaurant was quite noisy and the music harsh on my ears. I ignored it and played Words with Friends at the table. What decadence!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.