Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Remembrance Sunday in Stornoway

It was a very sunny morning, creating photographic challenges, but warming the streets. 

I was out in time to see people arrive and join together for the march from South Beach Street to the Martin Church. Three of the earliest are in an extra.

The empty streets were busy with people arriving at their various churches for morning service. Once they were in, the doors were closed and Stornoway became a ghost town again.

Whilst I waited for the end of the service, I chatted to Francis Jefferson, the President of the British Legion in these parts. (See extra.) He had been to a service at Point. 

After church, all the troops and allied associations were to match to the War Memorial, high above the town. I could not go because I was expecting my lift to Harris at 1pm and there is no doubt that the service would be late. The minister at Martin Church overran the service. "Tommy always does this," said Francis!

My blip shows people disgorging from Martin Church. The colour guard were just standing to attention (see their feet) and the regimental sergeant major (I think) is looking for his wife and toddler son who were patiently waiting outside. I love the colour and the juxtaposition of the action.

After lunch at the Royal Hotel - the only place open in the town - Jeremy arrived to drive me to Harris. We picked up Peter from the airport en route.

It's quite a drive, but it was lovely to see the landscape changing.

Our two holiday houses (for 7 of us) are side by side overlooking Scarista Beach. They are luxurious and withstood a storm last night. Wifi is intermittent in the bad weather, hence this back blip.

Now looking forward to the rest of the week. Not many people but plenty of landscapes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.