Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A rainy day on Harris

The forecast was for quite a lot of rain today, but occasional dry spells were predicted.  We had a late breakfast/brunch then set off to Luskentyre Beach.  

At first it was raining and windy. I found it hard to get going. It was such a struggle to keep the lens and the filters dry. I retreated to the dunes and settled down to photographing the marram grass. 

Then the rain stopped and I began to see how to produce the images I'd hoped for. I did not want to leave!

We planned to have a cuppa at a community café, but it was closed on Mondays. We ended up back at our houses for a very late lunch of soup and cheese. Delicious. How could we be hungry after our big breakfast?!

We were soon out again. This time to Bagh Steinigidh where the waves were fantastic. We were warned that the tide can come in very fast, so I left my camera bag high up the beach. Imagine my shock/horror when a large wave swept up and I saw my bag heading out towards the sea!! I managed to retrieve it. Phew!

This sort of photography is addictive and I've added a second image.

We had a lovely talk by Margaret Soraya before a delicious chilli.

Time for bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.