Memorial Bench

I feel like going to sleep! I was up on time today, thank goodness, and headed off to the Butchers' and the park to get my blip before going to work.  My first Friday lunch in a while.

There was prep to do, deliveries to deal with and plenty of customers to serve! Amir said we were quite busy! He has stayed in the shop - he said it wasn't worth him going home. 

I feel sorry for him in a way. He had a thriving business in Iran, which imported and exported goods. This of course was killed stone dead overnight by Donald Trump's sanctions. Fortunately for the family, his wife works for an international company with a UK presence, and they offered her a position here. 

His life must be so different. They live in a small rented home they can barely afford to heat as it's all electric, in a cold country. (He struggled to believe I wasn't joking when I said he would need a scraper to take the ice off his car!) His wife has the same job as before, but for him it must be a different world. 

I have a short time now to relax before I have to head back for the evening shift.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.