Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A favourite view

Here is The Sage, Gateshead, this evening. I remember how excited I was when I saw it lit up for the first time. When it opened I was in a community orchestra that played in there during the opening day. I've since had the privilege of playing in all three halls.

Tonight, I was not heading for the Sage. Julie and I went to see a play called The Gypsy Queen at the Live Theatre. It was excellent. This was its last UK performance before it goes to Canada and then it has three weeks in New York.

There are two actors who play all the roles. Their main roles are as boxers. One has been trained by his father to box in the ring. The other is  a bare knuckle Romany fighter. The main theme is an exploration of what it is like to be gay and a fighter, but it also covered an lot about sexuality and finding oneself. It was brutal and tender.

We stayed for the post show discussion. Two of the audience members were gypsies and gay. One made interesting contributions to the discussion.

I have felt much better today. Thank you for all your good wishes. I think the antibiotics are working.  Last dose tonight.

I took Mum to have her hearing tested. It took much longer than last time and she was very tired and uncomfortable by the time her new hearing aids were issued and fitted. They have changed the settings in the new aids and it is very confusing. I suspect that many elderly people just don't cope with these changes.

We dashed home and I went, late, to see Liz and Nick for a cuppa and a catch up. Meanwhile, the podiatrist came to sort out Mum's feet. I expected Ann to arrive with a flip chart. This did not happen, but I was home just in time to prepare a meal for us both and then rush out to Newcastle for the theatre.

So glad to feel well enough to do all this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.