Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A documentary photography day

The Northern region Documentary Photography group of the RPS met today. We go to Kibblesworth, just off the A1 western bypass, where they have an excellent community building.

This morning we heard Trevor Ermel speak about and show his work. He started as a trainspotting boy with a camera. He went on to photograph the same places then and now, showing all sorts of changes in local society in the process. We all enjoyed seeing the photos from the 1970s and 80s, with the fashions of the time. There were rather a lot of trains, but that did not spoil my enjoyment of the presentation.

After lunch, we saw a few images from Mark. Then Harry showed us a slideshow of images he has taken in Northumberland Street in Newcastle over a year. People and their idiosyncrasies can be fascinating. I then showed a few of my prints from project I'm doing in the west end of Newcastle, documenting one small area in Scotswood.

There was lively discussion and I think we all enjoyed the day.

I've had bloods and an ecg done at the surgery tonight. I was pleased to see a normal ecg, so I made a double image using it, to show how happy I was. This was a baseline before changing medication that may affect the ecg, so I did expect it to be normal. Back in the day, I worked for 1 year on a coronary care unit in Doncaster and I was a dab hand at reading ecgs (almost in my sleep!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.