Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A long awaited book

A few years ago, Margret (next door) and her husband, Guy, joined a Family Stories group in the Hexham U3A. They became passionate about writing their stories.

Guy died five years ago tomorrow. We cannot believe that 5 years have passed. Margret's published book of their stories is just ready and she is sending copies to friends and family for Christmas. Ours came today, in memory of Guy. 

We all have interesting family stories for ourselves. Theirs are fascinating for a wider readership. The book opens with Guy's mother, whose parents worked for Alice de Rothschild in Grasse. Grandfather was her steward and grandmother was her nurse.

When Guy's grandfather died, at the age of 37 years, Queen Victoria wrote a personal letter of sympathy to Alice. It is reproduced on page 2.

This is book which is both touching and informative. We are looking forward to reading it all.

I was at the Freeman Hospital this morning for the first year check on Arth's new knee. It seems that he has more flexion than I realised and only 5 degrees off the best I can expect. I'm delighted with that news. Well done Arth.

I called in to the optician's and picked up my new varifocals. So far, I think I can see much better with them, although I still need to remove them to read and for the computer.

I have a cold so I'm going to lie low this weekend and take Beecham's powders!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.