An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Never work with children or animals...

Backblipped

Or our family!

Having zero experience of (or much interest in if I'm being honest :-) group photo shoots, a few weeks ago I found myself offering to do a family photo shoot in celebration of Ele's upcoming special birthday (ssshhhh....don't tell anyone, but she'll be 60 on Boxing Day ;-)  And she said okay.  Damn!  :D

So today was the day.  

What can I say about the experience other than never again!!!  Well, it was interesting.  And slightly stressful.  And testing -  in a I-have-one-nerve-left-and-you're-on-it kind of a way.  Actually a nightmare....Okay, I'm being a tad dramatic and a bit unfair.  It was a little of all of those things but more than anything, it was an absolute hoot!

Observations:-

It's impossible for everyone to look at the camera and smile at the same time.  

"Someone" thinks the click of the shutter is their cue to blink.  Every time!

When facing a camera, even the most intelligent of the species finds it impossible to follow the simplest instruction.    *Kenny can you put your left hand on Jennifer's right shoulder please? No, your left hand.  Left hand.  Yes that one.  On her right shoulder.  No not Nikki's shoulder, Jennifer's shoulder.  Her RIGHT shoulder.  Now can you look at the camera and not your hand.  Great thanks.  Smile everyone...click...Andrew you blinked!

When Esme is in the group shot, someone always ends up looking at her, and the blinker continues to blink on cue.

Again, when Esme is in the group shot and David is standing behind me with a squeaky toy working hard to get her attention, she finally looks at me and smiles her best smile....click....and the grown-ups are all looking at David waving the toy!  

People need more instruction than don't wear anything too patterned or loud.  I should have added please try and colour co-ordinate / compliment each other.

Get a decent backdrop Diane!!!

But in spite of my moans we had such a laugh.  And when all is said and done, even though the photos may not be technically correct and the background may be horrid and there may be a fair few focussing errors, I have captured a few moments that show the love, connection and bond that exists in our family and I am sure Ele will be more than happy with that :-))

PS And I got to tease Ele lots about the impending arrival of her bus pass :D  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.