Stacked up high

Woke up to find there was very thick fog.  This lingered for most of the day - and it has rained all day as well.  I went to Morrisons at 9am.  First thing I noticed when I walked into the shop was this high " wall " of chocolate treats.  I thought they might fit for the Wide Wednesday theme which is " solid". Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting

Musical link - Sweet Like CHOCOLATE- by  Shanks & Bigfoot

I had been back home for quite a while when I got a text from Amazon advising me that they had just delivered a parcel and " handed it to the resident ".  Well that was a lie.  No-one had knocked on my door.  I checked behind the bins - and inside the bins.  No parcel there.  So I contacted Amazon and did a " Live Chat".  The only advice the lady could offer was that I should call on all my neighbours and ask if they had my parcel.  Well for one thing I didn't fancy traipsing round The Close in the rain knocking on 11 doors asking if they had my stuff.  I would imagine most people were out anyway at 12 noon. Also I had an appointment at The Metrocentre so I didn't  have any spare time to go calling on my neighbours.  So the lady said to wait till Friday and if the parcel hadn't turned up to get back to them. 

My appointment was at Boots for a hearing test.  ( Over 50's can get a free hearing test at Boots every 2 years.) I'm not concerned about my hearing but I like to go " just in case ".  After the test the audiologist said that my hearing had deteriorated a tiny bit since my last test but there was nothing to worry about. 

I mooched around the shops but didn't stay long as the Metrocentre was very crowded with Christmas shoppers and there were long queues everywhere.

I hadn't been back home very long when the doorbell rang.  I hoped it was Amazon with my parcel.  It was actually one of my neighbours with my parcel.  Amazon had delivered 2 parcels to her.  She was expecting 2 parcels.  She signed for 2 parcels.  She opened 2 parcels - then realised one of them wasn't for her.  She hadn't ordered cat food !.  As soon as she saw lights on in my house she had come straight across to give me my parcel.  So all's well that ends well. 

Neil has just messaged me. He's in Barcelona with a friend from work. Been there since Monday.  Tonight they went to watch a UEFA Champions league match between Barcelona and Dortmund.  Barcelona won 3 - 1.  So plenty of goals to make for an exciting evening.

Sad to hear of three deaths on the News this evening.......

Gary Rhodes - restaurant owner and TV chef   aged 59

Clive James - critic, broadcaster and poet   aged 80

Sir Jonathan Miller - medical doctor, theatre and opera director, actor, author, television presenter and humourist,    aged 85

Steps today - 10,014

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.