Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

River reflections

This morning I met a friend for coffee in the village, and it was lovely to catch up with each other over a decent coffee. It was a beautiful sunny day, with no wind so the reflections on the river were good as the water was so calm. This house used to be a restaurant and guest house but it has been empty for 10 years now since the restaurant closed down. Someone bought it and did some renovations but nothing further happened to it, such a shame as it is in a prime spot in the village, and it would be ideal for a chef to take over as an auberge/restaurant.

And talking of chefs Gavin was on the plane last night to Johannesburg with Gordon Ramsay. Gavin said he was very patient at check in allowing staff to take selfies with him and was very friendly to everyone. I don't know if he snores as Gavin was on the upper deck and he was below in the section down stairs!

I finished writing all the Christmas cards today. It's actually quite therapeutic (if you ignore the cramp in one's hand) and does give one a chance to reflect on those people you are sending the cards to. So that is a big tick off my list. I will start wrapping presents tomorrow but I have to take the car to the garage to get the Satnav updated and they said it could take a few hours while I sit and wait - what a waste of time. It had better not take to long as I need to get back to the electrician who is coming to fix something - there is always something being attended to at our house!

The walk in the woods was lovely in the sunshine, and Xena is getting very fast at chasing squirrels. I dread the day she actually catches one which I don't think is too far off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.