Lightbulb Moment

Here is Phil, one of my Community Councillor colleagues. He's dressed for the occasion - Christmas lunch for some of the older people who live in our locality. You couldn't miss him with his festive necklace. The lighting in the venue was awful for photography and there is nothing I can do, try as I might (and have) about the flash apparently coming out of his head. Too bad.

It's a tradition that a festive lunch is offered to older people who live locally. The Community Council, and particularly one person, applies for funding, makes the arrangements and ensures that anyone who might like to come along is invited. This is the first year I've been involved in setting up, serving food and clearing up. Generous gifts were donated for the raffle and the Primary School choir came to sing songs and carols. It was lovely to see friends and neighbours having a sociable time and it all seemed to go with a swing.

It's not often I wear a festive dress out in public but it happened today. I'm full of goodwill now and looking forward to a quiet cup of tea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.