The Real Reason

It was another busy day for me today - I was awake far too early and so started the morning by finishing decorating my tree (this isn’t it in the picture!).

At 9 I had a painter here, finishing off the painting of my chimney breast after I’d had it plastered a few weeks ago. Actually it was the dad of the plasterer who came to do it. He was done by lunchtime and this afternoon I had a visit from my friend Dorothea who used to look after Dolly when I was at work. I miss seeing her every week so it was nice to catch up.

On Monday mornings I normally meet with a group of women from church. Today we met in the evening instead as we had a Christmas meal together instead of our normal Bible Study. The meal was delicious and afterwards we played silly party games.

The woman who hosted had THREE Christmas trees! This was a small part of one of them. Many of the decorations on this one were dolls from around the world but it also had this important reminder about the real reason for Christmas. I do love Santas and reindeer and snowmen, but for those of us who are Christians, Christmas has a much deeper meaning - first and foremost a celebration of the birth of Jesus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.