Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Christmas traditions

Who invented the tradition of the Christmas tree lights? The one that says they do not work first time when you plug them in, one year after the last time they worked? 

When I was a child we had ancient lights with large glass bulbs. If one blew you had to work out which one it was, by replacing each light in sequence. If two had blown, you had a challenge on your hands.

My lovely, multicoloured set of 100 lights would not illuminate. There was a bulb missing. Where were the spare bulbs? They always used to be in a particular kitchen draw, but that kitchen has gone. I looked all over the house and eventually found them in a drawer in the new kitchen.

Great.

The lights still would not go on. 

Two hours later and I drove to Hexham to Tesco. The new lights do not have bulbs. When they go off, that will be that. (Hope it's not this year....)

Although there are 100 lights, they do not cover all of the tree. I should have bought 2 sets.

Dressing the tree is an emotional experience. Many of the toys are from my childhood, when I dressed the tree with Mum and Dad helping me. Others are more recent, but each one comes with a memory.

We have never mastered the principle of "less is more" so the tree is weighed down with decorations. 

It is two years since these decorations saw the light of day. Where is Santa's wicker sledge? The knitted toys who ride in there are waiting to jump in. Where are the Seven Dwarves? They are very precious and only Grumpy is here, looking very Grumpy indeed.

There must be another box in the loft, but I can't find it.

Anyway, if you are still reading, here is the tree in all its glory - a mixture of the sacred and profane. Here is the star of Bethlehem at the top with a fairy (of considerable age) underneath and with nativities and Santas abounding.

I'm tired out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.