Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Orchids for Christmas

The orchids arrived a couple of days ago. They are a present from Myroon, Mark and family in Sunderland. Mum and Myroon send emails to each other quite often and they have been family friends for many years.

It was another dreich day and I did not venture out. I've been sending a photo slideshow to people instead of Christmas cards.  I always think I will leave out someone I would like to send it to. The real pleasure is when people drop an email back and we are in touch with each other again. This is particularly important this year, when we have seen so few people.

Dick came and planted bulbs. He was here nearly all day, tidying the garden and tutting about the moss in the lawn.

Annette was here to clean the house and dispel good humour and cheer.

Life in the time of Covid-19
Case numbers are increasing in our little area. As far as I know, not in the village, but in the ward. Haltwhistle has had a definite spike in numbers.

I think we all need to hold our nerve and not relax despite the vaccine being on the way. I don't know anyone who has had it yet.

Oscar has a limp. This happened a few months ago and cleared in a few days, but I'm keeping an eye on him. He hasn't let me examine his leg yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.