Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Christmas is coming

It's been yet another grey, misty, cold and wet day here in Humshaugh.

I had a terrible night's sleep, or rather, lack of sleep. I think it's to do with a change in medication which I hope I have now sorted, but it was not fun.

I was up early, tidying ready for my cousin Freda to visit. She came on the train from Sunderland. There is one that goes all the way from Whitby to Carlisle. It was a bit late and I sat in the car to keep warm.

We had a good day together. Freda's sister, Joan, has Parkinson's disease and is having a very tough time. She has the associated dementia and hallucinations as well as the physical problems. Recently, her husband, Bob, had a knee replacement and Joan had to go into respite care. That has completely upskittled her and she has deteriorated further. Bob had a heart attack just after his knee op, so he's not in a great state.

They are both now living with their daughter Elizabeth who has made her lounge into a bed sitting room for her parents. It's a logistical nightmare, even with care four times a day, because Liz and her husband work and there are hospital appointments to be attended. I'm full of admiration and hope it works out for them all.

Freda and Mum and I chatted and shared our concerns.

I took her back to the train for 3.56pm, by which time it was dark and cold and raining, etc.

I voted on my way home from the station. I'm not sure I'll be able to stay awake to hear the results tonight.

I cooked a chickpea casserole which we enjoyed.

The Chinese lanterns were an acquisition from the Christmas Fayre last Saturday. I love the way they almost glow.

I heard of two more friends with cancer diagnoses today. We never know what we have to face sooner or later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.