Old Town Cemetery

It's possibly temping to read more into this blip than it merits. It's not a metaphor for the state we're in, the day after the 2019 Westminster election, but a snap I took as the sun was setting. I was wandering up by the castle and through the Old Town Cemetery trying to tire Flora out.

I slept a lot better last night thank goodness. I avoided the exit polls and the early results. Even when I woke at 04:00 I didn't turn the radio on but snoozed till 06:30. Then I did switch on and, fortified by a cup of tea, started to take in the full horror.

I decided the most positive thing I could do was bake. I set myself a gingerbread challenge. I've always been wary of things like gingerbread which, in my opinion, need a fairly dense texture. My gluten free flour is so refined it's more like cornflour (no gluten) but I think I cracked it today. Trouble is I can't try it because, again in my opinion, gingerbread needs to be left for a couple of days to develop peak stickiness. It looks and smells ok though. Once the oven was on I thought I'd better make good use of it and made a few more mince pies.

I'm out tonight for a Christmas meal. Two friends are making the food and transporting it to a third friend's house (luckily for me only a few doors along the road). All I have to do is turn up with a bottle. I can do that.

Before then it'll be another outing for Flora so I can leave her to sleep this evening & I'd better change into something suitable for the occasion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.