Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

The South

I am attempting to catch up with five days of blips after having finishing an entire bottle of Prosecco, so hoping for the best here...

There are a few things to be said about Wednesday, so I am hoping I can keep this short.

Work was fine and finished slightly earlier. G picked me up and we headed straight to Diane's house to put more food in the automatic feeder for the one and only fish that swims in their fish tank. If it wasn't such a bully, it would have some company, but there you go. That job done (I am muchly relieved not to have to remember to do it again), we headed to the recycling centre in Karama.

Did I mention there was a deluge in the morning and I got a bit, er, wet whilst waiting for a taxi? I didn't take an umbrella or put on my raincoat because I didn't bother to check what was going on outside before I left the flat. All this variety in the weather - I'm just not used to it! ;)

Anyway, back to my story... the recycling place hadn't quite dried up from the morning's rain as there was still quite a lot of water dripping from the ceiling. We had lunch and then I had a "meeting" with a lady from London office. That went well, I guess. I was annoyed at myself at the way it started, but you can't dwell too much on the past. I ended up working again until nearly 7pm when it was time to get dressed and head out again to - Dubai Opera! This time to see The South, a tribute band to The Beautiful South. I did my usual thing of playing music by the artist in the flat whilst we got ready. G really enjoyed listening to the CD, so was well ready when it came to the show.

Second time there in a week, G felt like we live there! We went into a completely different section though, and for the first time ever, thanks to a promotion for UAE National Day, we got to sit in the Stalls, just eight rows away from the stage. NICE. I had sold the original tickets I bought, so went to say "Hi" to the people who bought them during half time.

The South... what can I say... I know very little about them. Once again, they are an artist whom I have listened to on the radio (since 1989) and enjoyed their Great Hits CD. Today I got to know more about their history etc. Their music is melodic and the lyrics interesting to say the least. In my blip, they are doing a rendition of Fairytale of New York (seasonal). The iPad autocue had run out of battery so a phone was used for the lyrics. A mental note was made to look into Kirsty MacColl when I got home!

It was a fantastic evening. Sadly there aren't enough Beautiful South fans in Dubai. Either that or the timing wasn't good as so many people are leaving on this weekend for the holidays and there are too many things going on around town. It would have done better at the Tennis Stadium on a Friday night.

We had eaten before we left, so came home and I was straight to bed; too tired to think about choosing a picture. My extra is the very first picture I took on the evening... G very kindly sat at the fountain for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.